Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Day: January 26, 2019

South Eastern Kenya leaders meet for Economic Bloc Policy Formulation

Ukambani top leadership on Friday converged in Kitui town for a consultative forum to put final touches to the operationalization of the South Eastern Kenya Economic Bloc (SEKEB).

The forum also provided room for public participation by the Bloc’s stakeholders on a national policy for establishment of County Economic Blocs drafted by the Ministry of Devolution and ASAL.

The event was graced by Cabinet Secretary for devolution Eugene Wamalwa, governor Charity Ngilu, Machakos deputy governor Francis Maliti and Makueni County Secretary Paul Wasanga who represented governor Kivutha Kibwana.

According to SEKEB acting chair Archbishop Timothy Ndambuki, the regional economic bloc will have a three-tier administration structure that will steer it to success.

The three tiers will include:


This will be the apex body which will offer leadership on policy and high level decisions.

The summit will comprise the three governors and senators, each county assembly speakers, majority and minority leaders, MPs, County Secretaries, representatives of the Business Community, Religious leaders, Civil society, Youth, Women, and PWDs.


 Each County is to establish a county forum for deliberating and engagement with the summit as appropriate.

The County Forum will consist of the Governor, senator, all county MPs, MCAs, CECs finance and Trade, representatives of Business, Professionals, Religious, Youth, PWDs, Women, Speaker, and the civil society.


This will be the body mandated to carry out administrative duties, mobilization of resources execution of SEKEB Programs and projects as well as Communication. 

The Secretariat will report to the summit.

According to Ndambuki, the thematic areas to be pursued by SEKEB include but not limited to: Water resources development, Agriculture and food security, Technology and ICT development, Health Services, Trade and Entrepreneur Development, Manufacturing, Industrialization, Mining/Extractives, Financial Sector Development, Infrastructure development, Urban Planning, Youth and Women empowerment, Tourism and cultural development.

Governor Kivutha Kibwana will be the Secretariat’s legal advisor, while Timothy Ndambuki will head it.